Make It Monday: I Only Date Time Lords Painted Shirt

To any girl lamenting a lost Time Lord, fear not! I wanted to make my sister a Whovian shirt for a while. After the success of my painted oxfords, I decided to use the Martha Stewart Multi Surface Paint again. It was as simple as tracing letters and painting inside lines. Not always my strong suit but it worked out in this instance!

Start out with a clean shirt. I bought this vintage fit tee at Old Navy for a couple of bucks on sale.

I found some great letter stickers at Target, again for a few bucks. If you feel confident freehanding your quote, have at it! I can’t write in a straight line to save my life. You could also use stencils. I like the stickers because they don’t move on you and you can see what the quote will actually look like before committing to it.

Next, use a fabric marker to trace your letters. If you don’t have paint, you could fill in the letters with the marker instead. Then iron the letters, flipping the shirt inside out, according to the instructions on the marker box.

And paint! I used a silver, making it quite Who-like!

image

My sister loved the shirt, and her friend has asked for one as well! It was a fun project, and now I’m trying to figure out what I want to put on my own shirt. If anyone makes one, don’t hesitate to share! Have a great day!

