Make It Monday: Blue (Wo)man Group Painted Shoes

I had a pair of oxfords that my mother bought several years ago. At the time, I wasn’t too interested in the shoes, simply because they were quite wide on my very narrow feet. I have been told that they make me look like the Penguin. From Batman. Not the look I go for, usually. And they had these annoying yellow spots all over. Ew on several levels.

But when I saw these painted oxfords on A Beautiful Mess, I was blown away. Painting shoes? That sounded ridiculously perfect! I searched far and wide for Martha Stewart Multi-Surface Paint and found a collection of 10 colors at Hobby Lobby for $19.95. Paint for forever!

image

As you can see, there were some yellow spots located on the tops of the shoes. Prior to painting, I took a wet paper towel and cleaned them well. Then I let them dry completely before proceeding.

image

I promise, no one had an accident on these shoes. That yellow had to go. Shake your paint very well before pouring it into a plastic bowl or something and begin painting.

image

First coat. As you can tell, I chose a nice pearl light blue hue from the Martha Stewart Paints. After finishing the first shoe, I decided it would just be easier to paint free-hand rather than tape the black sections. Just as easy, especially since I had a tiny brush to paint in the little circles.

image

The first coat was completed on both the shoes. I let the shoes dry for at least an hour between coats, enough time to watch some “Star Trek” with my dad.

image

Once the second coat was completed, the shoes started looking as if they had been blue from day one. Yay! I felt a lot more comfortable once I had done the first coat, so the painting went much faster.

image

As you can see from the close-up, the second coat still left a few streaks on white visible. I decided to go with one more coat.

image

And success! Three coats were the charm!

image

With three coats of paint, these oxfords looked better than new, they looked original and fun!

image

I matched the shoes with a similarly hued Aerie top and Talbots black jeans. It was a little chilly, so I had on an off-white sweater from Forever Twenty-One. How fun are those shoes? Love them!

I couldn’t be happier with these shoes! To be honest, it has made me look at some of my old shoes a bit differently. Ones that I may have retired due to use or fading could be transformed in as little as four or five hours. How could I resist? I hope you enjoyed this Make It Monday! See you next week!

2 thoughts on “Make It Monday: Blue (Wo)man Group Painted Shoes

Comments are closed.