Make It Monday: Great Balls of Denim

Sometimes you have a craft that completely surprises you with how amazingly it turns out. Something that friends and family gush over when they see it, like my Omigod You Five Guys Apron from last week’s Make It Monday. Something you are just so ridiculously proud of showing off.

And then you have this week’s Make It Monday.

I have seen so many amazing crochet and knit rugs posted on Pinterest and wanted to try one myself. But I had no idea what to do. When I saw this one from Heartland Living On A Budget, I couldn’t help myself. I had to do it.

 

Don’t you love the pastelness of this rug? I just want to curl on it with a good book!

 

I didn’t have extra sheets to chop up. I did have two pairs of jeans that didn’t fit. And that is when I should have thought twice. Not me.

I spent the vast majority of Sunday evening cutting the first pair of jeans into strips, ranging from about a fourth of an inch to an inch wide. In all fairness, I was watching the first season of “Battlestar Galactica” during this time and failed to understand the complications from such differing sizes of jean chopping. I then sewed these strips by hand together. Yes. I was lazy and did not want to set up the sewing machine, thus I took over two episodes to sew these strips together. You may yell “Idiot” at the computer screen whenever you wish.

For some odd reason, I was making perfect stitches on these strips. Perfect stitches that will never be seen and thus did not need to be perfect. I am very dumb sometimes.

By eleven, I had a lovely little (unfortunately, quite little) ball of denim yarn.

I hold the world in the palm of my hand. If your world consists of knitting or crocheting. I think that may be stretching it a little.

I went to bed, figuring I would be bright-eyed and bushy-tailed in the morning. No, that is not a euphemism, it is a real saying. At least among my family. And so, I woke to begin the project. As detailed on the linked website, I first tried a double-crochet. This did not work out well. The denim is very bulky and cumbersome, much more so than I had factored into the equation. I started over, trying a single crochet this time. By the time I was nearing the end of my ball, what was supposed to be a rug was more like a, oh, I don’t know, a placemat.

“What is this strange thing you are staring at?” I’m fairly certain Scooby asked as he photo-bombed me. “It’s so puny. I don’t like it.”

I’m not certain if I’m showing off the size of the rug or my slightly grotesque Abraham Lincoln had a baby with a hobbit and this is their lovechild feet. Or my hole-y Batman PJs. “Holy strawberries, Batman, we’re in a jam!”

At this point, I was frustrated. I had errands to run and did not have the patience to cut the second pair of jeans yet. I waited until the afternoon to tackle that particular monster. And, like the idiot I am, I did the exact same thing: making lovely little straight stitches on those dumb rags. I began the process again. I made two more rows and was almost out of jean-yarn.

The product of two days. I cannot say I am pleased.

At least this was a bit more rug-like.

The moral of the story: sometimes crafts go wrong. You can’t always gauge how well something will go beforehand. And you can’t beat yourself up about it, though it probably seems I have in this post. I simply need more materials. I know things now, many beautiful things- wait, sorry for the “Into the Woods” moment. I do know how to handle this project now. I’m simply going to wait until I see cheap jeans (let’s say $1) or take whatever old jeans people throw out and work on this project slowly but surely. I would love to see it reach five feet in diameter; I think it would be pretty impressive. I’ve seen several examples of these on Etsy and have to say that I am impressed by their results. I think this will be a work in progress that I’ll just have to keep you up to date on in the future.

 

4 thoughts on “Make It Monday: Great Balls of Denim

Comments are closed.