Overwear, Underwear, Any Time, Anywhere Lace High-Low Top

This next craft was certainly unexpected. I bought some lace on sale to make the Robin Sparkles Jean Jacket for a Make It Monday segment but had no plans for using it afterwards. And you know I can’t just not use fabric that’s hanging around the house!

Don’t you just love this floral lace?

I was out shopping the other day and noticed that practically every store has their take on the high-low (slightly cropped in the front, trailing slightly in the back) blouse, many in lace.

Like this one found on Amazon (from GO Jane, as one of our terrific readers pointed out! I love the contrast of length with this one)

;

Or this one from Forever 21, a bit more restrained but still cute.

;

While perusing Pinterest, I stumbled upon Cotton & Curls, a wonderful DIY blog, and her “Super Easy Square Top!” It was exactly what I was looking for, a super easy way to make a shirt with any material. And what better material than the adorable lace I already had? I decided to switch up the how-to a smidge in order to make a high-low top and here’s how!

First thing’s first, I had to cut a rectangle of lace out. I didn’t use any specific measurements, just held it up to my chest and gauged how wide it would need to be to fit, then added a few more inches on each side to be careful.

;

I then folded the fabric, putting the right sides together, until the front was significantly shorter than the back. I then pinned the fabric, leaving about a fourth of the top unpinned on both sides. These would be the armholes. I also cut a neckline, and a little off the back to make a nice neck hole.

;

Because my thread perfectly matched the material, I zigzagged the side seams down, then zigzagged over that, to ensure it would stay together. This is what it looked like at that point. See, already shirt-like!

;

As per the instructions on Cotton & Curls, I folded the neck portion down twice, just to make certain that there would be no unraveling. However, I didn’t do that with the arm hems or the bottom, simply because I think sewing over it twice was sufficient. For the hems, I did a straight stitch.

;

My workplace. As you can see, I had my iPad blaring the whole time, rocking to Bon Jovi, Queen, and Billy Joel. Love Pandora!

;

In order to make the high-low work, I trimmed the back to make it more circular, and pinned the front to the back in a diagonal fashion. This probably sounds ridiculous but I can’t explain any better. I then hemmed it down! After this picture, I ironed down the edges, putting a cotton shirt on top just to make certain I didn’t put too much heat on the lace.

;

This could be my favorite craft yet! I can’t wait to pair it with just about everything in my closet, dresses, turtlenecks, tanks, you name it! Since I had nothing better to do today, I decided to put a couple of looks together for you!

;

For the first look, I paired the top with a dusty rose Fossil tank; cropped, fitted Old Navy brown trousers; and leopard printed H&M flats. I also wore my hair up in a bun, using spare lace as a headband, and wore clip-on rose earrings from Forever 21.

;

Same look but with G Star Raw skinny jeans.

;

For this look, I switched into my Sam & Libby Fiddler boots and did an impromptu braid with the same piece of lace. I tied the lace onto a segment of hair, braided it, then used that braid as the third piece of standard braid. I also wore a golden leave necklace I bought a few years ago at Bijou in Germany.

;

These aren’t that drastically different but show you a little of what you can do with this versatile piece! I hope you enjoyed this DIY as much as I did and would love to see your take on the high-low trend!

2 thoughts on “Overwear, Underwear, Any Time, Anywhere Lace High-Low Top

Comments are closed.