Ashley Dreams of Coconutty Cookies

I’d share but I’m afraid they’re all gone!

Every so often, I get odd cravings for odd reasons. This particular one for coconut and cookies came about in a fashion almost akin to the plot of A Song of Ice and Fire. Let me break it down to try to show my reasonings:

 

I was wanting desperately to watch Doctor Who. Sadly, I do not have BBC or any other channels for that matter, relying on the Internet and Wii for my television needs. Which are sizeable, I must tell you. We already have Hulu Plus but it doesn’t have the fantastic Who series. Netflix does. And so I got a Netflix account. With me thus far?

 

While browsing Netflix, I noticed the movie “Battle Royale.” I have heard about this movie for a long time but never got my hands on a copy. Let me tell you, if you like bloody awesome films, you need to see this one. You may have to read subtitles, but the directing and acting is so wonderful, you won’t notice it. Essentially, “Battle Royale” is set in a Japan that has decreed that once a year, a class must fight to the death. Each of the forty-four students is given a bag with food, water, a compass, map, and one weapon. These weapons can range from machine guns to a pot lid. Yep, you can imagine what that might lead to.

 

But wait, you might say. Didn’t I see a movie shockingly similar last year? But there were all these attractive people in it and the deaths usually weren’t seen? Yes, “The Hunger Games” is a very poor spin-off. After watching “Battle Royale,” my parents wanted to watch the American film. It hadn’t seemed as slow and boring in the theater. The only thing that I could really get into was the unseen part of the Games, the control office. I will not start a big argument about the movie. And I still haven’t explained my cookie craving.

 

We were still on a Japanese kick. So we watched “Jiro Dreams of Sushi,” a documentary of a Michelin sushi chef. Watching all of that delicious sushi reminded me of my favorite spot for it in Germany, called Sushileecious (yeah, terrific name!).

 

And like when you give a mouse a cookie, I had a craving for my favorite German candy, coconut covered in dark chocolate. That seems far too complicated to explain wanting to make cookies but there you have it.

 

As many of my recipes are, this one is an adaptation of Une Gamine Dans La Cuisine’s Peanut Butter-Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies. I simply think she has the best ratios of sugars and such.

 

 

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt + extra for sprinkling

1 stick (1/2 cup) butter, at room temperature

½ cup creamy peanut butter

½ cup dark brown sugar

1/3 cup granulated sugar

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

1 egg, at room temperature

½ cup rolled oats

½ cup coconut

½ cup white chocolate chips

 

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. In the original recipe, the dough was allowed to sit in the refrigerator for several hours. I know that will make the flavors blend better and make an overall better cookie. However, I was in a crazy sugar mood so I went ahead and baked half the dough and put the rest in the freezer. I’ll update on the flavor when I make the other batch J

 

Sift the flour, baking soda, and salt into a small bowl.

 

Sift that flour! It’s good for you. Oh, never mind, I just like using my sifter.

On medium speed, cream together the butter, peanut butter, sugars, and vanilla extract until the texture is nice and creamy. I swapped the sugar ratios, simply due to my love of brown sugar. Add the egg and beat to combine. On low speed, gradually add the flour mixture until just combined. Using a large spatula or wooden spoon, stir in the oats. I then decided to add coconut and the only chips I had on hand, white chocolate. Any combination you choose will be great!

 

Look at that creamy goodness!

Oatmeal and coconut and chips, oh, my!

Line baking sheets with parchment paper. Using a teaspoon, heap the cookie dough into a nice dollop. This is the first time I made such clean looking dollops and I can’t really put my finger on how that came about.

Ain’t they the cutest dollops you’ve ever seen?

Lightly sprinkle each cookie with whatever salt you think takes the best. Bake for 10 minutes, or until the cookies are lightly golden. Cool completely on the baking sheet and then store in an airtight container at room temperature.

The waiting’s the hardest part.

 

B-E-A-utiful!

These were not my very favorite cookies in the world (that honor goes to my brown butter chocolate chips from a few weeks ago) but they had a great consistency. There was just enough coconut to shine through. Had I had regular chocolate chips, this might be a different story and I might make these little suckers on weekly basis.

