Walking in Space: DIY Fringe Overshirt

If you haven’t already gotten the impression, I am a huge fan of clothes. I probably have far too many, which becomes painfully obvious every time I move and have to pack it all up again. I also hate getting rid of clothes I love; every stain and hole reminds me of a place or person, every rip represents part of my journey thus far. And now you probably think I’m far too nostalgic. So I’ll stop there.

H&M is above all my favorite store. I have had the pleasure of shopping there since I was a preteen, thanks to living overseas. It pains me every time someone looks vacant when I mention it. I actually worked there for a while, and it didn’t end my infatuation with the store.

Flattering, isn’t it?

I bought this oversized, one-size-fits-all jersey top a few years ago on sale in Germany. It was five euros, and a color that I loved. I actually own way too many pale pink pieces now, so I’m banned from buying anything pink. But somewhere along the way, several holes began to grow on the bottom of the shirt. It’s the perfect hanging out, over leggings or skinny jeans top. I just couldn’t bring myself to get rid of it. Thus, I decided to give it a new life, thanks to the new trend of fringed shirts. I’ve seen tutorials all over the internet, such as this one. It’s pretty self-explanatory. I’ve already updated an old Audrey Hepburn shirt so I knew what I was up to. Bear in mind that I don’t measure precisely. I used an index card to make straight lines.

Hey, it’s on sale, ladies!

First lay the shirt (relatively) flat on a table.

Using either a ruler or something else with a straight edge, cut even sections. Mine are about 3/4 of an inch thick but that’s just an estimate. I also cut out the seams on the ends, just to make a cleaner fringe.

Gently, yank those suckers until the ends curl on themselves. If you want to make a sweater type shirt like mine, fold your shirt in half and make a cut on the front of the shirt from the fringe to the neck opening. I then cut out the existing neck hem.

And that’s about it! It takes maybe a half hour, if you take your time with the chopping, as I did. It is a fantastic way to keep old shirts you just can bring yourself to toss! Let me know if anyone else tries this at home! It kind of reminds me of a spin on ’70s style.

So warm and cozy. This will certainly be my go-to overshirt when the weather finally gets cool.

Side view of the shirt. I don’t know what to call it exactly, except comfy!

