Tropical Edamame Granola Recipe

Tropical Edamame Granola

A few weeks ago, A Beautiful Mess posted a loose granola recipe that was wonderful. I hadn’t thought about making my own granola but it makes sense. A) it is cheaper to buy the various foodstuffs like nuts and dried fruit, B) you can customize your recipe to reflect what you like in granola, and C) I knew it would make my house smell like the muesli I loved at the local Rewe when I was a teenager. So I made a batch of my own with cashews, dried pineapple, and dried cranberries (to make it like that old muesli) and it was a huge hit! My father eats granola bars everyday at work and texted me that he didn’t think we needed to buy any anymore.

 

Which boosted my already too large ego. But I wanted to make actual bars. I would rather have a granola bar, just to be quicker and easier than making a mess with the loose kind, since I would just eat it by hand rather than put it in yogurt.

 

So I did a quick search and found one that I could easily adapt for my own means. I decided to use edamame, a slight addiction in our household. It is a salty, crunchy, nutty bean. We buy tons a week. Ironically, we only became fans of it after we moved away from Japan.

 

Tropical Edamame Granola Recipe

2 cups old fashioned oats

¾ cup packed dark brown sugar

½ cup edamame

¾ teaspoons pumpkin pie spice

1 cup all purpose flour

¾ cup dried fruit (I julienned dried mango and pineapple)

½ teaspoon salt (I cut the salt a bit due to the saltiness of the edamame)

½ cup honey

1 egg, beaten

½ cup olive oil

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

 

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and butter a baking dish.

 

In a large bowl, mix together the oats, brown sugar, edamame, spice, flour, fruit, and salt. Make a well in the center, and pour in honey, egg, oil, and vanilla. The original recipe called for mixing with your hands. I didn’t do that. It mixed just fine with a spoon. I did pat the mixture evenly into the pan.

The mixings prior to the wet ingredient addition.

 

Into the oven with you!

 

Bake for 30 to 35 minutes in the oven. You should see the edges darken and harden. Remove and cool for a few minutes, then cut into the bars while the mixture is warm.

Mmm. About all I can say.

 

And success! These had a great spicy flavor with just enough salt from the edamame and sweetness from the honey and fruit. There are a variety of textures going on in this granola, which I love. What are your favorite granola mixings? Let me know if anyone else tries this recipe!

One thought on “Tropical Edamame Granola Recipe

Comments are closed.