Brown Buttered Chocolatey Chippy Goodness

My sister Sarah adores chocolate chip cookies. She knows her way around the kitchen but somehow, whenever she gets that cookie-feeling, it is up to me to make the dough. She’ll bake them, don’t get me wrong. Apparently, I make magical cookie dough.

This time, I was the one with some serious cookie cravings. I rewatched the fabulous movie “Stranger Than Fiction” the other day. If you’ve never seen it and you are a fan of Will Ferrell, Dustin Hoffman, Maggie Gyllenhaal, or Emma Thompson, you should stop what you are doing and watch it. It’s the movie that made me realize just what a talented actor Will Ferrell really is; he is so sweet and awkward, it’s adorable.

Back to my point, in the film Gyllenhaal plays a baker and in a great scene, she forces Ferrell’s Harold Crick, an IRS agent who has started hearing someone narrate his life (yes, it is so great), eat cookies.

Stranger Than Fiction Cookie Scene

Which got me wanting chocolate chips. I have followed the blog Une Gamine Dans La Cuisine for years. Trust me when I say every recipe is terrific. I make her salted millionaire’s shortbread for basically any occasion (just last weekend for a family party). So it was a no brainer for me to try one of her many chocolate chip recipes.

This recipe was altered a smidge by me, mostly adding a whole bag of chocolate chips and no nuts. It calls for brown butter, which lends the most fantastic dark coloring to the end result. I typed out how I made the cookies but check out the original one if you want to see what she did!

1 2/4 cups of all purpose flour

½ teaspoon of baking soda

14 Tablespoons of butter

½ cup of granulated sugar

¾ cup of packed dark brown sugar

1 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 egg

1 egg yolk

1 bag chocolate chips

In a bowl, mix flour and baking soda.

Heat 10 Tablespoons of butter in a pan at medium to high heat until it is completely melted. Continue cooking the melted butter by swirling the pan until the butter darkens. It will take you a few minutes; it took me about four to five minutes because I didn’t have the stove up too high. Pour the melted brown butter into a heatproof bowl, or, as I did, directly in the mixer bowl, over the other 4 Tablespoons of butter and stir until it is melted.

The butter was a lot more brown in real life. Not sure why it’s so light in the pic.

In the mixer bowl, add the sugars, salt, and vanilla with the butter and mix until it is mixed. Add the egg and yolk and mix until the mixture is smooth and there are no lumps. Let the mixture stand 3 minutes and whisk for 30 seconds. Repeat this 2 more times. It will let the mixture become perfectly incorporated and delicious. Not that I am condoning eating raw dough. Because I would never do that. Eat dough. With an extra spoon.

Smooth and dreamy looking sugary buttery goodness.

Putting the mixer on the lowest mix level, add the flour until it is just combined. Add the chocolate chips and mix really quickly.

And I did not eat this with a spoon. Really.

Just as she did, I let the dough refrigerate. I was making dinner, so I wrapped up the mixing bowl and left it in the fridge for about two hours.

Preheat the oven to 375 and line a sheet with parchment paper.

Now I’m not precise when it comes to portioning. If you check out her page, you will see that she is a lot more professional about the cookie sizes. Me, bigger is better so I just popped a few tablespoons worth of dough and called that a cookie.

Weird shot, but I had to show you how gooey these suckers were in the oven!

Bake the cookies for about 10 to 14 minutes, rotating the sheet hallway through, at the 5 minute mark. Mine cooked in 10 minutes on each batch.

Told you, bigger is better, at least when it comes to cookies.

For fun, I put a smidge of different salts on the last two batches, a red Hawaiian sea salt and black Sicilian sea salt. They were delicious! Honestly, these might be the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever made. They had a terrific crunch but were gooey and warm. The chocolate to dough ratio was perfect, at least in my mind. I hope you all enjoy the recipe and check out Une Gamine Dans La Cuisine!

