DIY: Jeans to Denim Vest

Due to move number two of 2012, I haven’t been as up to date on the blogging as I would like. This move is much less complicated than an overseas one in terms of logistics. But you certainly realize how much stuff you have when you pack up after only six months. Which brings me to today’s DIY.

 

I have been wanting a nice denim vest for a while now. I wear vests and blazers quite a bit; it can honestly make an outfit look together on those days when you certainly aren’t. However, the cheapskate that I am just couldn’t wrap her head around paying so much for a vest. Then I remembered that I already had extra denim in the form of old jeans that don’t fit and leftover material from my brother’s cutoffs. Using the cutoff castaways first, I decided to make a vest by hand. I couldn’t find a tutorial online so I decided to just wing it.

Image

The first thing I did was cut the material along the inside seam to open the material up.

Image

Then I sewed the two pieces together. 

Image

 

And that’s when I stopped using the camera. I hemmed the top of the material, and sewed the lefthand panel to the back and the same on the right. Using another vest, I cut out an armhole on one side, then matched up the material and cut an identical hole on the other. I hemmed up the armholes and the front, making the front panels into “V” shapes, like a vest. I then put the vest on to ensure that it would fit properly.

Image

Let me tell you, it didn’t. Not because of the way I made the vest but because it was made using male skinny jeans. 

 

Image

 

It hit me at a great spot but there was no way that sucker was going to button up. My brother suggested making it more like a corset, adding rivets to the front and lacing it up. I like that idea. Since I have a pair of wide legged jeans that I bought at Old Navy for a few bucks that just don’t look good, I am going to make another vest that will hopefully fit like a glove, er, a vest. But I am really happy that I was able to make this! Come on, it is SO much cheaper and efficient! When I make the next one, I will be certain to photo every step for you all!

Image

