DIY: Cross-Stitched “Game of Thrones” Bookmarks

“A Game of Thrones.” The show has it all: swords, dragons, hot men, incest, blood. Hey, it even has zombies (well, kind of). When I moved back from Germany, I was in the midst of my final semester of college and hard at work. Needless to say, I needed some distraction. I had heard about the “Song of Fire and Ice” book series from friends and colleagues for years but never seemed to get around to reading them. One episode into GoT and I was hooked. I bought the five books and forced myself to wait until after my finals were due to read them.

I grew up reading books like “The Lord of the Rings” and “Harry Potter,” very character-driven fantasy books. This series is similar in a few respects. While there are protagonists or point of view characters, you can find yourself rooting for the other characters. I have quite a few favorites in this series like Jon Snow, Catelyn Stark, Littlefinger, Ser Jorah, and, of course, Tyrion. I am excited for House Martell to become part of the television series; I love the family of Dorne!

I found these cross-stitched bookmarks on Black Lupin’s Deviant Art (for Houses Tully, Arryn, Tyrell and Martell click here and for Stark, Lannister, Targaryen, Baratheon and Greyjoy click here) and immediately began work on my Lannister bookmark. I put “A Lannister Always Pays His Debts” on the opposite side, just to make it a little cooler. Then I made the Stark one for my younger sister. When my father started reading the books and mentioned that he thought House Tully was interesting and liked the Blackfish (AKA Ser Brynden, Catelyn’s uncle who will be in the upcoming season), I decided to adapt the existing Tully bookmark to reflect his arms.

I will admit that I could have made these look a bit more finished. If I were making these bookmarks as a gift, I would probably sew them onto a coordinating fabric and attach a ribbon. But since it’s only for me and family members, I got a bit antsy and just had to finish them. These are a great example of modern cross-stitchery. We don’t just make cute little kitties and “Home Sweet Home” signs. Some of the projects I’ve completed have been Rorschach from “The Watchmen,” a “Star Wars” picture, and am currently working on a “X-Men” villains picture. I love cross-stitching and have been doing it since childhood. It’s great for my nerves and always ends up being more fun than any other project!

4 thoughts on “DIY: Cross-Stitched “Game of Thrones” Bookmarks

  1. roxyboots says:

    I have not cross stitched in years! May just try again though as these are a fab idea and I am a teenie bit obsessive about the books myself!

Comments are closed.