Hi There!

Hi there! This is the first of (hopefully) many posts for my first blog, PerfectlyMarvelousGirl. Join me as I cook, craft, and critique to my heart’s content. I hope to have at least one entry per week so bear with me as I get the hang of this thing!

 

My goal is to show that everyone, regardless of skill level, has the ability to cook and to craft. I didn’t learn to cook until I was eighteen; up to that time, I simply didn’t see the point. My mother was always around to cook, so why should I? But when I started college, and my parents started working, I realized that someone had to take care of the food issue. It wasn’t easy. I burnt water the first time I tried to make water. Don’t ask me how it happened. But within a few weeks, my confidence grew. It’s four years later, and I am now the go-to person in the family for baked goods. I make the turkey every Thanksgiving, and made a seven course Christmas meal with my mother, just for fun. While I have been sewing since childhood, it is only recently that I have been able to make things from scratch. My biggest project thus far was a vintage-inspired bathing suit, which I’ll talk more about on a later post. I love to craft clothing and such for the simple fact that these are things already sitting around my house; why not create from them?

 

The point is, my blog will show just how easy it is to incorporate your own cooking and crafting into life. Good food leads to happy bellies. Crafts can be therapy and life-changing. Here’s to many more posts!

 

Love, Ashley

